Rascal Flatts Mark 20 Years With Greatest Hits Release

Country group Rascal Flatts is celebrating their 20 year anniversary with the release of a greatest hits album.

The group released their self-titled debut album on June 6, 2000, which featured four top-ten hits. The group would then release albums, such as, ‘Melt’ (2002), ‘Feels Like Today’ (2004), ‘Me and My Gang’ (2006), ‘Still Feels Good’ (2007), and ‘Unstoppable’ (2009) before their original label Lyric Street Records owned by Disney Music Group. After the closure of Lyric Street in 2010, they signed to Big Machine Records and released ‘Nothing Like This’ (2010), ‘Changed’ (2012), ‘Rewind’ (2014), ‘The Greatest Gift of All’ (2016 – Christmas album), and their final studio album, ‘Back to Us’ (2017). They are currently promoting an EP, ‘How They Remember You’, with the title-track being their latest single which is at 23 on the Country Mediabase Chart.

They have charted forty singles, with sixteen reaching number one on the Billboard Hot Country Songs, Country Airplay, or Canada Country charts. Their longest-lasting number one single was a cover of Marcus Hummon’s “Bless the Broken Road”, which spent five weeks at the top of the charts in 2005.

The group announced at the beginning of 2020, they would be disbanding following a farewell tour after spending 21 years together. On May 19, 2020, the farewell tour was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and it’s unknown if the group will tour when pandemic restrictions ease.

In reflection of the over 20 years working together, Gary LeVox, the lead singer of Rascal Flatts, says “we do reflect when we hear (our) stuff.” He adds, “for me, it always goes back to like where we recorded it, when we did, (and) what was happening right at that time.”

LeVox’s bandmate Jay DeMarcus says “I hope that people feel like we made the kind of music that matters to people in the season that they’re in, in their life.” DeMarcus adds “I hope that our music somehow touches them on a deeper level than just turning it up with the top down and having fun to it.”

The group also featured lead guitarist and high octave harmony singer Joe Don Rooney.

Earlier this year, on social media, LeVox shared a preview of a new song that will be on an upcoming solo Christian album, which will be released before the end of the year. He added it’s always been a dream of his to record a Christian album.

DeMarcus has also been busy during the pandemic producing albums for other artists and plans to continue doing that.

‘The ‘Twenty Years of Rascal Flatts – The Greatest Hits’ Tracklist:
1. “I’m Movin’ On”
2. “These Days”
3. “Bless The Broken Road”
4. “Fast Cars And Freedom”
5. “What Hurts The Most”
6. “Life Is A Highway”
7. “My Wish”
8. “Stand”
9. “Take Me There”
10. “Here Comes Goodbye”
11. “Why Wait”
12. “I Won’t Let Go”
13. “Easy” (featuring Natasha Bedingfield)
14. “Banjo”
15. “Come Wake Me Up”
16. “Changed”
17. “Rewind”
18. “Riot”
19. “I Like The Sound Of That”
20. “Yours If You Want It”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: